LTG Mary Legere – Running is Key to my Professional Success

LTG Mary Legere is an avid runner and marathoner. When she is not busy with the daily responsibilities that come with being the Army’s Senior Intelligence Officer, she is hard at work training for the next marathon.

A competitive athlete since elementary school, Legere has run regularly since she 14 years old, running several miles a day to stay in shape between field hockey, basketball, softball and swimming seasons to stay fit for those sports. In college, with less time for team sports, she shifted to running regularly, and competing in local races of every distance.  

Running Marathon

“That’s when I fell in love with it as a life sport and I.ve been running regularly every since, “Legere admitted. “In addition to helping me stay fit for my Army fitness requirements, running sharpens my focus, helps sustain my optimism, relieves the daily stresses of daily living.”  “From my days at the university to today, I’ve run anywhere from 4-7 days a week -– rain or shine –a habit I have sustained for the past three decades.

Regardless of where I am or what I am doing, I make time for it, because it contributes to my effectiveness as a leader, and my well-being as a person.” Now in the third decade of her military career, and serving as the Army’s Senior Intelligence officer, Legere continues to train. She has completed 15 marathons and is currently training for number 16. She has participated in the Boston Marathon twice and is working to build a solid base that will support her as she completes her first Half Ironman triathlon next year.

About LTG Mary Legere

LTG Mary Legere is career Intel Officer in the United States Army. She is the Deputy Chief of Staff for Intelligence, and is currently one of the Army’s two highest-ranking women.
This entry was posted in LTG Mary Legere and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

